What I’m Reading October 2013 Read-a-thon

Potential reads are as follows:

Books I've Already Started
Books I’ve Already Started

1.  The Shining by Stephen King (on page 163 of 659)

2.  A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn (on page 102 of 614), astute observers will notice this is a book I started during the April 2013 read-a-thon 6 months ago, and I’m just now getting back to it.

3.  A Tolkien Bestiary by David Day (I’ve only read about 10 pages of this one.  Since it has a lot of art, it might be nice for when I get more tired)

4.  Visible: A Femmethology, Volume 2 edited by Jennifer Clare Burke (on page 46 of 172, e-book)

20131011_230012
Library Books

5.  Where Late The Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm (256 pages): A work of feminist science fiction, that I got out the library and have been looking forward to but been unable to get to.

6.   Holy Orders (Quirke #6) by Benjamin Black (304 page) : This is probably what I’ll start with. It’s the latest in the series.

Short Books I Own

Short Books I Own

7.   Proof by David Auburn (96 pages play)

8.  The Hour of the Star by Claire Lispector (96 page novella)

9.  Hints of Heloise by Laura Lippman (100 pages of short stories and a novel excerpt). Laura Lippman is a mystery writer out of Baltimore that I’ve wanted to check out for awhile and this was a freebie I picked up along with the rest of my finds at Atomic Books in Baltimore.

10.  A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver by E.L. Konisburg (208 pages). This is a book I adored probably around the age of 8 or 9.

11.  The Final Solution by Michael Chabon (131 pages, short mystery)

I also hope to get a start on Eureka Street by Robert McLiam Wilson (396 pages, e-book, not picture)  which has been the quarterly read from August to October on Goodreads Ireland.  Everyone from the group has absolutely loved it, so I’m definitely looking forward to finally getting to it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

