Hours 5-8

Once I finished rereading up  Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler, I decided to jump straight into rereading its sequel Parable of Talents.  I can’t decide which I like better…which I’m about half way done with.   I can’t decide which I like better.  The first book was a relatively simple tale set in a dystopian world…of a teenage girl (albeit a very strong willed and intelligent one), Lauren, who leaves home after her community and family are burned in devastating fire.  It includes the seeds of her new religion and the very beginning of a new community.  Parable of Talents alternates between the viewpoints of Lauren, her much older husband, and eventual daughter.  The sections by her daughter are told in a future time after something bad has happened…I won’t tell yet you what, because you know *spoilers*).  Also it’s been a number of years since I read the book and I don’t remember.  I’m finding myself alarmed at how much closer we’ve grown to the time and in some senses world Butler describes.  The  two books so far cover the period of 2027 to 2032.  Butler published he first one in 1993 and the second in 1999 or 2000.  When I read them both the first time it was either 2000 or 2001 .  A child who could become Lauren was 8 or 9 years from being born.  Now in 2012, a child who could become Lauren is 3 years old.  I have friends with children who are slightly younger or older than that.

Stats:
Books read: 1.5: Parable of The Sower and Parable of Talents by Octavia Butler (1/2)

Pages Read: 489

Hours read: 7

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

