Hour 14

In the past  14 hours, I’ve read and blogged for approximately 12 and half.   In the past 3 I’ve read 104 pages of War and Peace. Reading War and Peace is defiantly slowing my reading pace, but that’s ok since War and Peace is a book rich with history, character development and footnotes. I also had  a glass of red wine which made me a little sleepy.   When I first starting  reading War and Peace back in January, I noted to myself that the reading of epic fantasies is excellent training for reading huge Russian novels with a never ending cast of  Having finished a Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin earlier today, I notice seen more similarities.    War and Peace is obviously of higher literary quality and based in actual historical events…but still…Both have a lot to say about the nature of history and the effect of “grand” events on “ordinary”citizens.

Mid-Event Survey

t1. What are you reading right now?  I’m about to switch to the Preacher graphic novels by Garth Ennis.
2. How many books have you read so far? I’ve finished 2 I already had started and read 104 pages of another…for a total of 669 pages…or roughly 50 pages per hour.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?  See question 1.  They’re graphic novels so they’ll be a nice change of pace…plus I’ve been itching to get back to the series.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I took yoga on Monday instead of today.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?  I did a 2 hour Skype call for a conference I’m running. It was nice to have a break. I also got to play some Glitch during it.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? I’m surprised I haven’t taken a nap yet.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?  I haven’t been very interested in this year’s Mini Challenges, so I’d suggest a different mix.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?  I can’t think of anything off the top of my head.
9. Are you getting tired yet?  I’m a bit tired, but blogging and caffeine have refreshed me.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?  Word Press eats posts (I lost this one 3 or 4 times before finally finishing it).  Save frequently.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hour 14

  1. Surely those War and Peace pages should count for double?! I neglected to choose short books this time, so I understand how you feel with this long selection…that bookmark must look like it’s hardly budged! But the variety in your list is terrific. Hope you enjoy the later hours. Happy read-a-thon-ing!

    Cheering for you from Team Trix

  2. Pingback: Book Stacks for October 2012 Readathon « The Leprechaun Reads

Leave a Reply

