October 2011 Readathon

I can’t believe it’s been almost a year since I posted in this blog. I’ve been neglecting it for other pursuits, but rest assured I’ve still been reading. I’ll be posting on the blog during the readathon, and I’ll be considering re-launching the blog in the upcoming months.  If you’re interested in what I’ve so far this year, you can go to my Shelfari page.   My plans for the readathon include finishing up a few things, reading some bits and pieces of other things, and hopefully starting and finishing a few whole books.  I plan to update this post every 3 hours or so.

To Finish Up:

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy (404 pages to go): Come hell or high water, I’m going to finish War and Peace during this readathon. I’ve been reading it on and off since January, but I keep getting distracted by other books.   I’ll be going back and re-reading Volume III: Part III for the 2nd or 3rd time, before continuing on to Volume IV and the Epilogue.

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin (423 pages to go)

I’m normally in yoga from 10:45 am to 12:15 on Saturday. I did a make-up class on Monday.  During the time I’m usually in yoga, however, I plan to continue my reading of  Neal Pollack’s Stretch: The Unlikely Making of a Yoga Dude on my Nook (134 pages left).  If it’s going well I’ll likely extend my reading of it in order to finish it.

Bits and Pieces:

Catch up with where my book group is in Dante’s The Divine Comedy: Canto 27 through 33  in Purgatario and Cantos I through III in Paradiso (62 pages)

A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski: This one is pretty dense, but I’d like to read 5 chapters of this (115 pages)

The Library at Night by Alberto Manguel: I’ll be dipping in and out of this collection of essays about libraries. I can’t imagine a better thing to read during a readathon than a book about books!

Options of Things to Start and Finish

Prequel to Ender’s Game: Formic Wars: Burning Earth by Orson Scott Card (Graphic Novel, 176 pages) and Ender’s War (Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead, 634). I’ve had a hankering for some Ender for awhile now, especially given that there’s now going to be a movie

Preacher: Dixie Fried by Garth Ennis (Graphic Novel, 224)

Preacher: War in the Sun by Garth Ennis (Graphic Novel, 240)

Preacher: Salvation by Garth Ennis (Graphic Novel, 256)

Preacher: All Hell’s A Coming by Garth Ennis (Graphic Novel, 192)

Preacher: Alamo by Garth Ennis (Graphic Novel, 224)

My friend Laurel got me hooked on this graphic novel series. All five volumes currently sitting on my shelf are borrowed from her. I’d like to be able to return them, when I visit her the second weekend in November.  I’ll probably read a couple during the readathon and the rest over the next few weeks.

 

 

 

The

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 2011 Readathon

  1. Great choices! I’m really excited, and we’ve only got minutes to go!

    My list is here if you’re interested:
    http://theoncominghope.blogspot.com/2011/10/24-hour-readathon.html

Leave a Reply

