November: NYRB Reading Week, Novella Month, etc.

For New York Review Book Reading Week (November 7th to 14th) I’ll be reading The Enchanted April by Elizabeth Von Arnim.

For the November Novella Challenge I’ll be going for Level II: Read four novellas by November 30, 2010

1.   Sula by Toni Morrison (149 pages)

2.   The Subterraneans by Jack Kerouac(152 pages)

3.   The Final Solution: A Story of Detection by Michael Chabon (131)

It turns out that these are the only books I own that technically fit the challenge (fiction of 60 to 160 pages).  I love all of Kerouac and Chabon’s stuff that I’ve read, and Toni Morrison’s “The Bluest Eye” is also a favorite.  I have a few others under 200 that might get read.

4.  Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery (156): I already had this out from the library. I enjoyed The Elegance of the Hedgehog earlier this year.

Today I also started Pattern Recognition by William Gibson.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November: NYRB Reading Week, Novella Month, etc.

  1. I have the NYRB edition of The Enchanted April. What a wonderful book.

Leave a Reply

