Ambition (24 Hour Readathon)

I just got back from a fabulous and relaxing vacation in NC (6 books in 7 days), and I’m psyched to get to follow it up with the 24 hour read-athon event! I’m also hoping that the read-athon will be the start of a reinvigorated blogging effort here on The Leprechaun Reads. Here’s my list of potential reads. I’m mostly going for quick reads.

1. The Moon is a Harsh Mistress (384 pages) by Robert Heinlein: I’ll be starting out with this one, since it’s for my sci-fi book group that meets this coming Thursday.

2 and 3. Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (224) by M.C. Beaton and Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (224) by M.C. Beaton. I’ll likely follow the Moon is a Harsh Mistress up with one or both of these entertaining looking “cozy” mysteries. They arrived via a U.K member of BookMooch.com, while I was on vacation.

The rest of these are in no particular reading order.

Children’s books or Graphic Novels for the later/sleepy hours

4. Zlateh the Goat by Issac Bashevis Singer (90): Illustrated by the fabulous Marice Sendak (Where the Wild Things Are, etc.)

5. Awkward/Definition by Ariel Schrag (85) and 6. Potential by Ariel Schrag (224): Autobiographical comic by a lesbian of her high school years (actually written/published while she was still in high school).

Other

7. Ox-Tales: Earth (207): Ox-Farm put out 4 slim volumes of short stories (Air, Earth, Fire, Water) by various well known (relatively) writers as a fundraiser. If I like this one, I intend to pickup the other 3.

8. Dream Angus: The Celtic God of Dreams by Alexander McCall Smith (168): This one is part of the Cannongate Myth Series, “in which well known authors are invited to tackle and rewrite their favorite mythological story.” Alexander McCall Smith writes (among other things) the 44 Scotland Street books that I adore. This also happens to be the first book I bought on vacation at Bear Bear Books in Boone, NC.

9. Beyond Black by Hillary Mantel (432): This is the second book I bought on vacation at Malaprop’s Cafe and Bookstore in Asheville, NC. I read Mantel’s better known, Wolf Hall, earlier this year and adored it.

10. Mattaponi Queen: Stories by Belle Boggs (240): This was the final book I bought on vacation (also from Malaprop’s), and my “southern literature” selection of the trip. I read a good review of it on someone’s blog awhile back.

…If all else fails, I’m going to start the copy of War and Peace I bought a few weeks ago. See everyone in about 8 hours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

