Recent Additions to Mountain TBR

These are all acquired in the last month or so…I think I may have a problem…What do you think? Which of these should I read first?

On my March 24th to March 29th Trip to New England, @ one of my favorite independent book stores, Montague Book Mill

1. Desert Legends: Re-Storying the Sonoran Borderlands: Stories by Gary Paul Nabhan and Photographs by Mark Klett

2.  Where the Bluebird Sings To the Lemonade Springs: Living and Writing in the West by Wallace Stegner

3.  The Arid Lands by John Wesley Powell: Edited by Wallace Stegner

My graduate degree is in Water Resource Management from the University of New Mexico.  I’ve been back in my hometown of D.C. for about a year, and I think I’m kinda of missing the West.

4.  The Necropolis Railway: A Jim Stringer Mystery by Andrew Martin (This one just looked fun).

Via BookMooch.com (Free) during March or April

5.    A Garlic Testament: Seasons on a Small New Mexico by Stanley Crawford (More Western U.S. goodness)

6.  The Lyre of Orpheus by Robertson Davies (The third book in the Cornish trilogy, the first and second are on their way to me from a bookmoocher in Panama)

7.  Sacred Country by Rose Tremain(For the GLBT reading challenge. I’ve been hearing good things about this one for a few years).

8.  Since My Last Confession: A Gay Catholic Memoir by Scott Pomfert (For the GLBT reading challenge.  I’ve already read a few pages of this, and it seems to be a good mix of humor and seriousness).

Purchased During the Kensington Book Festival April 25th

9.  Chesapeake Crimes: They Had It Comin’: Edited by Donna Andrews, Barb Goffman, and Marcia Talley (I went to a panel discussion with some of these authors at the book festival).

10.  All Passion Spent by Vita Sackville-West (I became interested in reading more of her work when I read about her relationship with Virginia Wolf in Hermione Lee’s biography).

11.  A Stranger Came Ashore by Mollie Hunter(This one just looked good).

Free Table (Bookcrossing.com) During the Kensington Book Festival April 25th

12.  The Death of an Irish Lass by Bartholomew Gill: A Peter McCarr Mystery(Interesting looking mystery series)

13.  Glimmer Train: Winter 1999: Issue 29 (Random issue of a literary magazine).

14.  Vanity Fair by William Thackeray (An interesting looking humorous classic).

15.   Palace Walk by Naguib Mahfouz (I didn’t really like Midaq Alley that much when we read in my high school humanities class, but the plot/theme of this one sounds like it might be more to my liking…Plus, I have a habit of liking lesser-known works by famous authors)

16.  Beowulf: A New Verse Translation by Seamus Heaney (Again, I didn’t like this one in high school, but I like Seamus Heaney’s poetry, so I figured a translation by him of Beowulf may make me like it better).

17.  Flashback by Nevada Barr: An Anna Pigeon Novel (Interesting looking mystery series).

5 Books in the Riverworld Series by Philip Jose Farmer (18. to 22.) (I saw the Scifi channel movie/mini-series that came out recently, and decided to checkout the books, which luckily my folks had).


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recent Additions to Mountain TBR

  1. lars says:

    Sara,

    Nice blog.

    I have to admit I hated the Cornish Trilogy. If you want to read good Robertson Davies read either the Deptford Trilogy or the Salterton Trilogy. Other than that, I see you have a lot of Wallace Stegner stuff on your list which is weird since I’m currently trying (again) to get through The Angle of Repose.

    Luck

    • I should probably at least give the first one in the Cornish trilogy a try at some point…If I don’t like the first couple chapters, I can get rid of all three via bookmooch again…I won’t be getting to any of these any time soon…(See the currently reading list on the side panel and I also have to get to the May book club selection before next week). I’m glad you like the blog. It’s brand new and very much a work in progress.

  2. Amy Henchey says:

    Read the Wallace Stegner – and lend it to me afterward if you like it!

Leave a Reply

