Readathon Post #5: Mini Challenge Interlude

The second mini-challenge I did was jehara’s “Get Up and Move Challenge.” It felt really good to get some blood flowing to my brain with 45 minutes on the treadmill (and an episode of Army Wives!)

The third mini-challenge I’m completing is the RIF challenge over at http://joystory.blogspot.com/.  http://joystory.blogspot.com/  The challenge is to create a post celebrating the reading child and to link to the Reading is Fundamental web page. I decided to complete this by posting a link to an article I read the other day about some current funding challenges being experienced by Reading is Fundamental. “Changes in the way the federal government plans to allocate money to increase and improve literacy pose a severe threat to one of the country’s best-known nonprofit groupsWhat do you guys think about this? In general I frequently support the government funding things in new and innovative ways and responding appropriately to the different needs of various communities. On the other hand, in this case, it sounds like this program is vastly successful and reinventing the wheel (so to speak), is not a good idea in this case.

Mid-Read-athon Survey

1. What are you reading right now? First Lensman by E.E. Smith
2. How many books have you read so far? 2+a section of anothe rone
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Probably Eclipse (It will be nice to see how the series finishes) or maybe picking up one of the environmental books I got recently.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?  Unforgettably, I wasn’t able to free up my whole day.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? My major interruptions were the creek cleanup I did this morning, time for meals and time for exercising. It was also my Dad’s birthday. Hopefully next year my schedule won’t be as hectic. I actually found the longer breaks for meals with the family and exercising to be helpful. I also scheduled reading time for yesterday afternoon and tomorrow to help make up some of the time I missed today with interruptions.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How sleepy I  got in the mid-afternoon.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Can’t think of anything off the top of my head.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Clear my day/weekend more.
9. Are you getting tired yet? Dinner+Exercise=Second Wind
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Relax and go at your own pace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readathon Post #5: Mini Challenge Interlude

  1. You definitely need those breaks…otherwise I think you can crash and burn!!!

    Cheering you on!

  2. softdrink says:

    Reading is fun
    Reading is great
    Hope you’re able
    To stay up late!

  3. Joy Renee says:

    Thanks for that link. I find it a very appropriate response to my RIF challenge, calling to my attention something I hadn’t heard about this very important program. I will want to read that article and contemplate it once my eyes and brain have recovered from this day.

    thanks for participating.

    read with joy

Leave a Reply

