Friday Reading (“Read-athon”)

I read from 1:45 pm to 6:45, with an unplanned nap somewhere in the middle (damn you comfy bed) , so I read about 4.5 hours total.  During this time I read:

84 pages of Your Face Tomorrow (53 pages and I’ll be caught up with the group read): 4 out of 5 stars: I’m really enjoying digging into the past of the novel’s various characters, and Marias’s musings (told through the mouth of his main character) about the nature of story telling, lying, betrayal, language, etc.  in every day life and in history.

“”How can I not know today your face tomorrow, the face that is there already or is being forged beneath the face you show me or beneath the mask you are wearing, and which you will only show me when I am least expecting it.”

His language is incredibly rich.   The original Spanish is left in appropriate places, and commentary is made by the main character about the difficulty of translation and differences in language.

I wish I knew more about the Spanish Civil War, as I think it would enhance my enjoyment of the novel.  I’m now done with the first half of volume one (Fever), and I’m  moving onto the second half (Spear).

270 pages of Logicomix: An Epic Search for Truth by Apostolos Doxiadis and Christos Papadimitriou(done!) : 4/5 stars:  One of more ambitious reading “projects.” for the year is to read Bertrand Russell’s (1000+pages), A History of Western Philosophy, and I thought that a graphic novel about his life and work, would be an excellent prelude to reading a longer work by him.  Logicomix doesn’t disappoint.  I also enjoyed how Doxiadis and Papadimitriou insert themselves into the work in several places, commenting on the learning and creation process that went into the work.  On several pages they’re shown walking along an outdoor path that winds it’s way through an entire page or even 2 pages of the graphic novel.  The progression of the conversation moves with them. This effect is hard to explain, but works really well. Trust me! I’m looking forward to starting A History of Western Philosophy sometime this month, and along with that will also be reading Sophie’s World (a novel that also explores philosophical ideas).

Pages Read: 354

Hours Read: 4.5

Pages Per Hour: 78.67

Books Finished 1

First up tomorrow afternoon will probably be Triplanetary and then The Waves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Reading (“Read-athon”)

  1. Felicia says:

    Good Luck! Go Team Woodsworth! —Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

