Quick Post on Virginia Woolf by Hermione Lee

I’m finally done with Hermione Lee’s biography of Virginia Woolf.  I’ve been reading it on and off since the end of January (due to its length and my tendency for book ADD).  Unfortunately, I have to return it to the library today (it was actually due back yesterday with no renewals left), so this post will be a short.  At a future date, I may re-acquire the book  from the library for the sole purpose of writing a longer review.  It was a marvelous book, which gave more insight into those works by VW that I had already read and a burning desire to read more of her work.  My current VW reading plan (spread throughout the rest of this year) goes something like this.

1.  Read the 2nd half of The Waves (I read the first half  during WI, but haven’t gotten back to it yet).

2.  Read Moments of Being, a selection of her autobiographical essays.

3.  Read Night and Day

4.  Read Jacob’s Room for the November Novella challenge.

One aspect of the biography I thoroughly enjoyed was learning more about the authors that influenced Woolf.  Several of them sound intriguing.  I’ve already gotten Challenges by Vita Sackville-West (a fellow author and lover of Woolf’s) out from the library.

Reading this biography, made me remember how much I enjoyed reading biographies and autobiographies.  Does anyone have suggestions for good ones I can add to my TBR list?
Finally, I’ll leave you with the VW quote on writing that opens Lee’s book, “I meant to write about death, only life came breaking in as usual.”  Isn’t it lovely?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Post on Virginia Woolf by Hermione Lee

  1. Nymeth says:

    I’ve read very few biographies, but I was thinking recently that I’d like to read more of them, especially of writers. So sadly I have no suggestions to give you, but I’ll come back to see which recommendations you get!

    I think this is a book I could love (a friend who’s read it told me that in addition to everything else, it’s a wonderful portrayal of the early 20th century), but I should probably save it for after I’ve read more Woolf. I’ve only read A Room of One’s Own, The Common Reader, Orlando and a few of her short stories to date.

  2. Eva says:

    This is my favourite bio ever! I really want to read Lee’s bio of Edith Wharton some time soon. 🙂 Other than that, I don’t usually read biographies.

Leave a Reply

